Need advice for strange problem (cant chose a hand)

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by Neffri, Apr 8, 2011.

1. Neffri

Neffri Regular Member

Heya folks!
    Long time reader, first time poster on this forum.

Im a amateur player who plays somewhere in the range of 2-4 times a week and i have quite the strange problem. I cant decide which hand to use. I read a thread here about someone who had quite the similar problem but figured i could start a new thread instead of stealing his.

The thing is it feels like my left hand is more technical then my right one. But my right one has way way more power. In the end i serve with my left hand and then i switch back and forth after that. I can do clears with my left hand but the result is very varying while my right hand clears and smashes are quite consistent.
    This is starting to get quite frustrating since i want to improve my game and it feels like its time to decide for a hand and maybe even get a decent backhand :p

Anyone got any thoughts on how to get to the best results quickest here, i really hate losing :p But understand that that will be the case for a while when i change my play style.

Might be able to upload a youtube video of how it looks when i play now if that can help in any way.

Thx for any advice

2. kwun

kwun Administrator

BC Janitor
    sometimes having a choice is not a blessing!

many of us have enough problem just playing with one hand. :)

3. visor

visor Regular Member

Which hand do you write, brush teeth with?

4. druss

druss Regular Member

Choose the dominant hand, it's going to learn the skills it doesn't have yet faster. Switching hands can work at a lower level of play but as you get into better games it just slows you down. In the end, make a choice and stick to it.

5. Fidget

Fidget Regular Member