Singles Help? (Highschool Player)

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by chsiao999, Mar 15, 2011.

1. chsiao999

chsiao999 New Member

Student
    Hello everyone, this is my first post on this forums, and from what I see it is a very helpful and intelligent one, so joining seemed like a very viable option.

But let's start talking.

I am 6'1", and I'm in Highschool, so I'm slightly larger than most of my opponents. I'm a Freshman and I've been placed in the JV1 Singles 1 placement on the school ladder. I had aimed for JV2 Singles because I knew my limits, but the original JV1 player left for Varsity. I am now stuck in a very awkward situation because my skills are not up to par. Here's a quick list of what I have personally noticed I have been doing wrong.

• Reacting Slowly - I will look at the shuttle, for some reason, and while I generally hit it at the right time, this tends to be my downfall whenever it is to my backhand.
    • Footwork - To put it bluntly, I'm slow. Not extremely, but in the world of badminton, I am like a snail next to a cat. I have the habit of watching my shot, instead of returning to the center of the court, and I also realize that many a times, I move awkwardly when going to the back of the court (Backhand side generally, I'm right handed).
    • Serves - My backhand serves are god awful. They're always too high, and as much as I try to adjust slightly, it is either killed immediately, or I end up hitting the net. Forehand on the other hand (awkward lol) is not high enough. It tends to arch, but not straight up. It's weak, because I'm not that great at hitting the "sweet-spot" and I find that they just smash on me, or place a smart drop.
    • Dropping - Either I drop too high or it's just not a smart drop. Many a times I find myself catching the shuttle when it's near the ground, instead of high up at the net.