Why do my Yonex rackets feel bad?

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by Elsie, Dec 15, 2019.

1. Elsie

Elsie New Member

Hi everyone. I'm new here, hope that you can help me understand something.
    I started playing earlier this year (have played tennis and squash before) and would call myself an intermediate player, play 3 times a week with a variety of reasonable club players, mostly doubles.
    I bought myself a Yonex Arcsaber lite (even balance, medium flex) and it seemed OK, but I soon decided that it has very 'soft' strings and was giving no power at all.
    I bought a Carlton Aerosonic Boom (even, medium) and got on well with that, head moved quickly but had reasonable power: much, much better in many ways than the ASL, and I never wanted to use that Yonex one again; it now felt dead and had no 'feel' or control or accuracy about it compared to the Carlton. Then some over enthusiastic partner smashed into me and broke the Carlton's frame, and I can't get another as they've stopped making them. :-(
    I borrowed a friend's Dunlop AP8300 Graviton (head light, flexible): wow, super light feel, flicky, fast head, super accurate, manoeuvrable and can put down enough power for me. Different to the Carlton, sure: but lovely. Only I can't buy one as they're no longer made!
    So I bought a Yonex Nanoray 10f (head light, flexible): and aren't any more impressed with that than the ASL. Feels dead, not accurate at all, better power but no 'feel', not 'flicky' nor precise like the head light Dunlop. Horrid, really.
    So I bought a Yonex Voltric Lite (head heavy, flexible). It's oddly similar in feel to the Dunlop (though head heavy!), reasonably accurate (ish) and good power, reasonably fast head movement; but I'm still not totally happy with it, and I'm getting badminton elbow easily. Best racket of the Yonex bunch, but that's not really saying a great deal...