Can’t seem to generate enough power for smashes

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by brokenchronos, Mar 14, 2020.

1. brokenchronos

brokenchronos New Member

Hi,

so I’ve been playing badminton for around 6 months now and I’ve been trying to learn the smash to up my game however I seem to be unable to generate enough power for a smash compared to my seniors in badminton club. I feel like im doing the right motion but there’s still no power. Is the smash all about technique and doesn’t matter the racket you can still smash as well compared to higher end rackets?

The racket I’m using is a senston n80 a cheap beginner racket

2. Ouchie

Ouchie Regular Member

Yes and no. Technique is king but a bad racket and its strings are only as capable as they can be. Borrow a different racket to see if it is you or the racket that needs to be looked at.

3. ralphz

ralphz Regular Member

You feel like you are doing the right motion? Somebody else might feel like you are not. So maybe come up with a more factual approach?

4. Budi

Budi Regular Member

Would you be able to smash on warming up stroke exchange? Coz u know on actual games, opponent will never give you easy bird to smash on purpose. Rarely you had situation where you are at good smashing position.

If not, maybe you could ask friend to record a video of you smashing for us to see.

Anyway you might want to train shadow smash at home (that if you already have the correct movement). Do a smashing movement without racket including your footwork pattern for smashing. Do it daily routine for 50 times. If you are get used to it already, add another 50 & so on. For adding some weight you can use any unused plastic bottle & fill it with sand or something to add the weight.

Simeon likes this.
  5. BalajiSethuraman

BalajiSethuraman Regular Member