AG2006 Team Events - Dec 4, 06 (Semifinal)

Discussion in 'Asian Games 2006 - Badminton' started by DoublesPlayer, Dec 3, 2006.

  1. DoublesPlayer

    DoublesPlayer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    USA
    Women's Team Semi-finalMatch WT13
    SIN - JPN

    The chance is 50 - 50

    Women's Team Semi-finalMatch WT14
    CHN - KOR

    No countries can stop CHN to win Gold, it's almost no contest here, no offense to anyone, it's just a fact

    Men's Team Semi-finalMatch MT13
    CHN - INA

    Would INA be able to deliver and give CHN a good fight, yeah maybe ... CHN has a better chance, but INA could surprise CHN. The key is probably in the first single between Lin Dan and Taufik. CHN - INA: 55 - 45

    Men's Team Semi-finalMatch MT14
    KOR - MAS

    It's another tight match, it's 50 - 50
     
  2. Jessica

    Jessica Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,140
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Remember to watch the live broadcast from CCTV5 tommorow...Just hope the channel will really broadcast it...Really hope to watch it live...
     
  3. sickgal

    sickgal Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,243
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    malaysia
    okay...may i know the time plz??? according to the time at DOHA! plz...thanks ya
     
  4. helloworld

    helloworld Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    vn
    waiting for a surprise from INA, if china wins, world badminton will be tedious. :(
     
  5. z3048018

    z3048018 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,273
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    HKG
    don't know why, but i'm sensing an upset between CHN V INA 2-3. MAS should get into the final.
     
  6. z3048018

    z3048018 Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,273
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    HKG
    the time is 1803 in Doha
     
  7. 2cents

    2cents Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,263
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Landlording, providing vacation homes at Disney wo
    Location:
    Vacation Home @ Disney World
    the rematch between INA and CHN should be exciting. Taufik, Sony, Luluk, and Alvent all get 32 hours rest, and Simon, Markis, Hendra get 28 hours rest. They also practiced more than China, more familiar with the court, While Bao CL only played 20 minutes. So all the INA players could win the 1st games because those CHN players will have not warmed up yet. But it is difficult to predict the 2nd games.

    For Taufik vs Lindan, Taufik will win the 1st game, then the second one is very crucial, if Taufik wins, he of course win the match, if he loses, Lindan will not give him any chance in the 3rd game.

    For Simon vs Chen Jin, Simon will win the 1st game, then the second game is very important, if Simon keeps winning, Chen Jin will packed home, if Simon loses, Chen Jin's confidence will boost up, Simon will run out of gas in the 3rd game.

    For Sony vs Bao, Sony will win the 1st game, because Bao CL still needs to get used to the court. The 2nd game should belong to Bao, because he holds the all-win records against Sony, then the 3rd game is the time for Sony to make his own history. Anyway, maybe there is no need for this match.

    For Markis/Hendra vs Fu/Cai, the INA will win the 1st game because Fu/Cai still enjoying the win last time. If Fu/Cai win the 2nd game, Markis/Hendra still have chance to win in the 3rd game.

    For Luluk/Alvent vs Guo/Xie, Luluk/Alvent will win the 1st game, because they find their rhythm gradually, but Guo/Xie are fully energized, they will totally overpower Luluk/Alvent in the next two games.
     
  8. DoublesPlayer

    DoublesPlayer Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Engineer
    Location:
    USA
    2cents, if all your predictions become reality, it seems like it would be a very tight games because all of them may be decided by the third set ... can't wait to watch the games tomorrow.

    The games should start at 17:00 Doha time, which is equal to 14:00 GMT? For sure it's 9:00 AM EST.

    So, CCTV5 will be broadcasting, hopefully.

    And, we all can watch it on TVANTS ... for those who hasn't installed TVANTS, you can download it from here: http://tvants.en.softonic.com/ie/56473

    Try it out first before the games start tomorrow ...

    Have fun everyone, and watch in peace ... no fights between fans anymore ... :)
     
  9. 2cents

    2cents Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,263
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Landlording, providing vacation homes at Disney wo
    Location:
    Vacation Home @ Disney World
    prediction is just a prediction ;) God may like this way to help Malaysia, I am probably a Malaysian fan ;) Either INA or CHN wins the semi, it must be exhausted to meet Malaysia in the Final.
     
  10. Cheung

    Cheung Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    21,755
    Likes Received:
    3,348
    Occupation:
    wannabe badminton phototaker
    Location:
    Outside the box
    This is really an interesting match. Thanks for the analysis 2cents.

    Simon's previous win certanly puts a different perspective on this semifinal

    I think singles is evenly matched. Chinese doubles has the advantage for Fu and Cai - Xie/Guo have the power but somehow I think they should be doing better in terms of results. They play really well in early stages but later in torunaments don't seem to continue so well. I think that match is really unpredictable.
     
  11. hcpoirot

    hcpoirot Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Prediction:

    Men teams:

    CHN-INA :3-1

    MAS-KOR 3-2

    Women team:

    CHN-KOR 3-0

    JAP-SIN 3-1 or maybe even 3-0.
     
  12. 2cents

    2cents Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,263
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Landlording, providing vacation homes at Disney wo
    Location:
    Vacation Home @ Disney World
    You are right, Cheung, Fu/Cai sound like the undisputable best men's double in China, but inside training, they lost many time to other pairs. Xie ZB/Zheng Bo beat all other pairs easily in training, but when they play open tournaments, they can lose at any time to any one.
     
  13. hcyong

    hcyong Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    104
    Occupation:
    Software Engineer
    Location:
    KL & Sg
    Men's team:

    CHN v INA
    I expect it to be something like in the group match, tight matches but ultimately going China's way. INA must bank on both doubles (which is a good possibility) and sneaking a singles win.

    MAS v KOR
    Lee CW and Hafiz are expected to win. Lee YD/Jung JS are also expected to win. Shon and Wong CH (I think Kuan has no chance) 50-50. 2nd doubles also 50-50. Very close, but I expect Malaysia to squeeze past.

    Women's team

    CHN v KOR
    Almost a foregone conclusion. CHN stronger in every department.

    JPN v SIN
    I also feel JPN is stronger in every department over SIN.
    Mori v Li Li
    Hirose v Xing
    Yonekura v Jiang (even if Jiang is surprisingly reliable so far, but Kanako is another story)
    SIN has split the Jiang/Li combination in the group matches to create a better second pairing. But both JPN's pairs are about equally strong. I think SIN will play Jiang/Li to try to get a point in the doubles, instead of very possibly losing both doubles if they were split again. Jiang/Li has an even chance against any Japanese pair but to get two more points is quite difficult to SIN.

    Prediction for final placement:
    CHN v MAS
    CHN v JPN
     
  14. 2cents

    2cents Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,263
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Landlording, providing vacation homes at Disney wo
    Location:
    Vacation Home @ Disney World
    exactly as Cheung pointed out, Chen Jin is question mark now. He was regarded the most stable winning point in the chain, now becomes the weakest link.

    I remember in many movies, Extra terrestrial aliens seem invincible, even unthinkable to beat. But once one chain of this aliens machine gets broken, the whole machine is down. China national team is a little bit like that kind of non-stoppable machine, no body can beat them, but once you find a way to beat one of them, the others stop fighting contagiously. A good example is to compare the Olympic and World Championship, in the last WC, Lin Dan, Bao CL, Chen Hong win the gold, silver and bronze, all of them are unbeatable. But in OG, after Lin Dan lost in the 1st round, BCL, and CH lost easily and quickly too.

    So there is still hopes for INA and other countries to win something. The key to beat China is to find the weakest link.
     
  15. 2cents

    2cents Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,263
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Landlording, providing vacation homes at Disney wo
    Location:
    Vacation Home @ Disney World
    But according to your assumption, MAS has 75% to win while KOR only 25%. This is not "very close" ;)
     
  16. ctjcad

    ctjcad Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,083
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    u.s.a.
    The INA Men's team will need...

    ..to drink lots and lots of GINSENG..:p
    They will surely need it after another marathon day...Btw, 2cents, interesting analysis there...true the INA squad is more "familiar" with the courts by playing extra, but if CHN forces rubber sets in all their matches, then hope the INA squad have enough gas in the tank..:rolleyes: :p ;)
     
  17. ctjcad

    ctjcad Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,083
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    u.s.a.
    For schedule of live AG-Badminton web-cast...

    ..you can go to this link:
    http://www.badmintoncentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38549

    Or you guys can also download TVUPlayer to watch the matches on CCTV1 & 5. Go here to download:
    http://www.download.com/TVUPlayer/3000-2194_4-10584889.html?tag=lst-0-1

    For U.S.-based viewer, Doha, Qatar is +8 from EST.
    Beijing time is +13 hrs from U.S. EST.
    So if it's 12 pm PDT & 3 pm EST(U.S.), then it's 4 am Beijing time and 11 pm Doha time(subtract 5 hrs from Beijing time).

    Good luck and enjoy!-:):cool:
     
    #17 ctjcad, Dec 3, 2006
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2006
  18. 2cents

    2cents Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    2,263
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    Landlording, providing vacation homes at Disney wo
    Location:
    Vacation Home @ Disney World
    exactly, I agree with you. INA's the biggest problem is the 3rd game. All INA players have problem to play the 3rd game. If Taufik, Simon, Sony, and doubles cannot win in 2 games, then they have less than 50% chance to win the match.
     
  19. Baderz_Jas

    Baderz_Jas Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student, business man wannabe =P
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    I agree with your predictions :p the 1 for INA in the Men's Event would be CJ most likely :) :( sorry CJ fans :crying: :(
     
  20. ctjcad

    ctjcad Regular Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    19,083
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    u.s.a.
    Sorry, forgot to mention the web-cast time for U.S.-based folks

    ...barring any last minute changes, according to CCTV broadcast time, the web-cast(s) will commence:
    12/4 18:00 CCTV1 women team SF - 2 am PDT/5 am EST 12/4 (Mon.)
    12/4 22:00 CCTV1 men's team SF - 6 am PDT/9 am EST 12/4 (Mon.)
    12/5 21:00 CCTV5 woman's team final - 5 am PDT/8 am EST 12/5 (Tue.)
    12/5 23:00 CCTV5 man's team final - 7 am PDT/10 am EST 12/5 (Tue.)
    12/7 20:00 CCTV1 1/4 - 4 am PDT/7 am EST 12/7 (Thu.)
    12/8 21:00 CCTV1 XD SF - 5 am PDT/8 am EST 12/8 (Fri.)
    12/8 22:00 CCTV1 MS SF - 6 am PDT/9 am EST 12/8 (Fri.)
    12/8 23:00 CCTV1 WS SF - 7 am PDT/10 am EST 12/8 (Fri.)
    12/9 00:00 CCTV1 MD SF - 8 am PDT/11 am EST 12/8 (Fri.)
    12/9 01:00 CCTV1 WD SF - 9 am PDT 12/8(Fri.) or 12 pm EST (Fri.)
    12/9 02:00 CCTV5 XD final - 10 am PDT 12/8(Fri.) or 1 pm EST 12/8 (Fri.)
    12/9 21:00 CCTV5 WS final - 5 am PDT/8 am EST 12/9 (Sat.)
    12/9 22:00 CCTV5 MS final - 6 am PDT/9 am EST 12/9 (Sat.)
    12/9 23:00 CCTV1 WD final - 7 am PDT/10 am EST 12/9 (Sat.)
    12/10 00:00 CCTV1 MD final - 8 am PDT/11 am EST 12/9 (Sat.)
    ...get those coffees ready and get some early sleep..:p :D ;)
     
    #20 ctjcad, Dec 3, 2006
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2006

Share This Page