Carbonex 8 SP Tour Question

Discussion in 'Badminton Rackets / Equipment' started by DR, Jun 4, 2001.

1. DR

DR Guest

Hi .. my friend just bought me a Carb 8 SP Tour... my question.. is this a good racket for a beginner myself.. and how should I string this ie.. tension etc...

thx

2. shaun

shaun Regular Member

Theatre boy!!
    cab8 should be a nice beginner racquet altho i recommend an isometric since it has a larger sweet spot...means its easier to hit.
    also, as for string tensions, i recommend that u string it low for now....like say, 18lb.
    the lower the tension, the larger the sweet spot.

3. Mat

Mat Guest

Hmm, I would say 20 would be better prefered.

4. Mat

Mat Guest

Hmm, I would say 20 lbs would be better prefered.

5. qazmot

qazmot Regular Member

Equipment Technician
    Im a beginner and bought a carbonex 8 SP 3 months ago then now Im planning to change the string however I dont know what would be the best string tension for this type of racquet.

Sticker in the cone says 16-20lbs. Is this the minimum/maximum tension?

Also I read here about the cross and main in the stringing the racquet, what does it mean?

Please help!

Thanks/Cheers

#5 qazmot, Nov 3, 2008
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2008
  6. green.blood

green.blood Regular Member

Feather basher
    You can go to 26lbs safely. For string as a start BG65 is very good. Not expensive and durable.

The best string tension? as long as it doesn't break the frame is good... :)

Actually I don't believe there is such thing as the best tension for a racket. It's what tension is best for you. It depends on how you play, not the racket.

Main is the vertical string on the frame, cross is the horizontal... purpose to string the main at lower poundage than the cross is to retain the actual frame shape. In many case most people would string the same poundage for the main and cross...

Hope this helps...

7. qazmot

qazmot Regular Member

Equipment Technician
    wow thanks for quick response..