Is there any rule on the receiver's partner actions?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by SSSSNT, Mar 29, 2022.

  1. SSSSNT

    SSSSNT Regular Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    123
    Location:
    Here
    For example, can he stand anywhere as long as it's not on opponent's court? Or even sits down on the court? Can he runs around while his partner is being served?
     
  2. phihag

    phihag Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    716
    Location:
    Germany
    Technically, the receiver's partner must not block the server's view of the receiver.
    In practice, unless you bring a fat giant player with Akane Yamaguchi behind him, this is not feasible, and even then, the tactical advantage would be negative.

    Other than that, of course the receiver's partner must not try to distract the server:
    Per §16.5.2 all players must be on court; the receiver's partner is not allowed go to the bathroom and let the receiver play singles for a while.

    In summary, there are a bunch of theoretical rules touching this, but in practice, the receiver's partner can be anywhere on court, sitting, running around, or whatever – unless their antics are designed to distract the server.
     
    #2 phihag, Mar 29, 2022
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2022
    SSSSNT and stradrider like this.
  3. stradrider

    stradrider Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    309
    Location:
    Norway
    To add to what @phihag said, the way I understand it, the term "unsight" mostly goes for not been able to see the shuttle and the racket of the server. So even if Yamaguchi stays in front of Kolding, it would not be allowed for her to block the view of the shuttle...
     
    Simeon likes this.
  4. DinB

    DinB Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2019
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Thailand
    TBH got faulted for moving even though he wasn't the receiver. Is this normal? Seems very strange to me.

     
    Simeon likes this.
  5. stradrider

    stradrider Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    309
    Location:
    Norway
    That was a classic one! I was laughing a lot about it.. Completely incorrect call, yes. An example, when players should have asked for the referee - "point of law" and not "point of view" of the umpire
     
    #5 stradrider, Apr 4, 2022
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2022
    phihag likes this.
  6. phihag

    phihag Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    716
    Location:
    Germany
    No, this is very clearly not a fault at all. Note that this is one of the few cases where players should actually call the referee, because they can appeal to the referee on a rule of law.
     
    stradrider likes this.

Share This Page