Is this legal? (Just for fun)

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by LenaicM, Mar 18, 2020.

  1. LenaicM

    LenaicM Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    782
    Occupation:
    Language teacher & graduate student in linguistics
    Location:
    Europe
    Thomas Laybourn, former XD world champion, just posted this fun video for the account of Badminton Famly and I thought it would be a fun thing to replicate during practice for fun and with friends.

    On a relatively serious note, would a serve around the post be legal?! :)

     
    phihag likes this.
  2. phihag

    phihag Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    631
    Location:
    Germany
    This serve would be really advantageous, to the point it would likely dominate top-level play.

    Thankfully, it is certainly a fault (emphasis mine):
    §13.3.2 is even more general and requires the shuttle to fly over the net in play, e.g. during service and the later rally.
     
    #2 phihag, Mar 18, 2020
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2020
    stradrider, speCulatius and LenaicM like this.
  3. stradrider

    stradrider Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Norway
    That would be a fun service to try in club match, just to see the reaction. :D

    From laws of badminton:
     
    LenaicM and phihag like this.
  4. LenaicM

    LenaicM Regular Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    782
    Occupation:
    Language teacher & graduate student in linguistics
    Location:
    Europe
    Thanks to the both of you. Indeed that would be fun at 20 - 19 in the decider of a friendly game to throw that serve... just for fun.

    I doubt it's easy to achieve though but it is something fun to try for a change.
     
  5. Ouchie

    Ouchie Regular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    222
    Location:
    UK
    Presumably the foot position is only legal in doubles?
     
  6. phihag

    phihag Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    631
    Location:
    Germany
    Correct. He may even touch the line, which would be a fault on its own – I can't tell precisely from the video.
     
    Ouchie likes this.

Share This Page