NBG 98 vs NBG99

Discussion in 'Badminton String' started by khalvin, Sep 25, 2017.

1. khalvin

khalvin Regular Member

Student
    Hi there! Newbie here!

I'm still considered a newbie. Been playing for about 2 years. I've mostly played with the BG66UM or BG66F at 22-24lbs. I'm actually quite curious about the NBG strings or control strings.

Whats the difference between NBG 98 and NBG 99? Any comments regarding personal opinions, experience or anything related badminton strings are welcomed!

Thank You!

P.S - Would you recommend the NBG series or Aerobite for me to try?

2. swsh

swsh Regular Member

Student
    If you're just curious about control strings, I'd suggest BG80 over everything up there. Mind you, total opposite of 66 and really hard feeling string.

NBG98 is really slippery and purely repulsion based. Great string to maximize repulsion while retaining decent durability. 99 can't really comment since I didn't feel anything from it.

3. Renshuu

Renshuu New Member

NBG 99 is a very very good string at 30+lbs. The control on net and drop shots is astounding. You might not like it if it doesn't suit your playstyle but since it's so different from the rest I think you should at least give it a try.

4. stradrider

stradrider Regular Member

NBG98 and NBG99 are two strings that are almost on the opposite side of the string spectrum. I would suggest to notice thicknesses of the strings. If you are used to 0.65mm control strings like BG66 you will NOT like NBG99 at all which is more of an all around string at 0.69mm. It would feel thick, soft and slow for you. NBG98 on the other side is a more similar string to BG66 with improved durability however you pay for it by a duller feel and slipperness.

If you are in the 0.65mm string camp you should really try lining no1 before nbg98. That is amazing string, my favourite today. It is more lively, crisp and long lasting compared to bg66.