Victor TK 9000 vs TK Ryuga

Discussion in 'Racket Recommendation / Comparison' started by JoeyC., Oct 4, 2023.

1. JoeyC.

JoeyC. Regular Member

Hi,

I've been using the TK 9000 for a few years now and am thinking of potentially making a switch.
    Would anyone have any experience using the TK 9000 to the TK Ryuga (original model).

I've predominantly used head heavy stiff racquets throughout the years (prior to the TK 9000 I was using a YY AT700). I'm not sure if racquets have really changed much or if there is even a need to change but I'm always worried about sticking with an older racquet model and not being able to purchase anymore if they start to break.

Thanks!

2. Kwarevo

Kwarevo Regular Member

I only tried ryuga 1.
    It really sledgehammer racket, HH and stiff.
    Quite hard to play speed in double.
    Too good for single, power, control

3. jctai

jctai Regular Member

First, ditch your TK9000, it's old and miles apart in performance compared to modern day rackets.
    Your worry is true, TK9000 is no longer available for purchase. If you like stiff , head heavy and long lasting, do yourself a favor and get a Li Ning Axforce 90 Dragon or Axforce 100.
    Don't get a Yonex or Victor as Yonex is having difficulty producing a good head heavy racket and Victor is having difficulty perfecting their plastic handle. The last good head heavy racket produced by Yonex is Astrox 99 or 88 and Victor's Ryuga1 is just massive overpriced for its age and tech.

4. Inconsistent

Inconsistent Regular Member

Student
    Just as an update I did end up getting the Victor Ryuga and wanted to share my thoughts if anyone else is in a similar situation.

I ended up getting the racquet in 3UG5 as I've always used 3Us and don't really notice much of a difference from 3U to 4U.
    Upon initial impressions, the racquet felt more stiff when dry swinging it without any strings vs my TK 9000. But other then that I didn't notice much difference in the head weight.