What happen if a player serve verticaly and shuttlecock touch the body of receivers partener

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by pradeeppk, Aug 28, 2019.

  1. pradeeppk

    pradeeppk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Hai friends
    This is my first post in this forum and regarding a silly doubt that may not occur in normal circumstances.
    My doubt is what happen if a player serve verticaly and hit the receivers partner. Recevers partner in the other court side ( receiver in A side of court and partner in B side)
     
  2. phihag

    phihag Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    561
    Location:
    Germany
    It is a fault by the receiver's partner:
    As with any fault, the opposing team – in this case the server's team – gets the point.
     
  3. event

    event Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,836
    Likes Received:
    229
    Location:
    Korea
    And, of course, we usually say 'the shuttlecock' or abbreviate it as 'the shuttle'.
     
    kwun and phihag like this.
  4. kwun

    kwun Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    40,163
    Likes Received:
    1,162
    Occupation:
    BC Janitor
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA, USA
    fixed the spelling for the OP... :D
     
    event and phihag like this.
  5. LiteBulb

    LiteBulb Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Nowhere
    I once saw a tennis clip somewhere. The server served into the wrong side of the court right into the other partner's racket before touching the ground. The point went to the server. How lucky hahaha.
     
  6. LiteBulb

    LiteBulb Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Nowhere
    Personally, I have experienced smashing the shuttle out. However, it so happened that my opponent lost balanced and slipped off the court. My shuttle touched him before the ground. He stared blankly at me. Gg.
     
  7. pradeeppk

    pradeeppk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Sorry, Found this on a sports website thats why i am confused
     

    Attached Files:

  8. stradrider

    stradrider Regular Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    Norway
    That's great! Now when my partner receive I will just run into the shuttle before he hits it and we score every single time :eek:
     
    #8 stradrider, Sep 4, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2019
    phihag and speCulatius like this.
  9. phihag

    phihag Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    910
    Likes Received:
    561
    Location:
    Germany
    I'm sorry to be the one to have to tell this to you, but random websites on the Internet are not necessarily accurate. Also, a label EASY TO UNDERSTAND GUIDE (sic!) is generally not a marker of accuracy.

    I have left a comment on that website pointing out the errors. If in doubt, only trust the official BWF rules, and require people to cite the rule they are referring to.
     
    llrr and stradrider like this.

Share This Page