What is the Purpose of Badminton?

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by SnowWhite, Jan 3, 2021.

1. SnowWhite

SnowWhite Regular Member

This thread is inspired by the recent thread about whether coaching should be allowed. This took a bend toward what badminton means for different groups of people.

I started playing because my father played and as a 7 year old, all I wanted was to be like him. I still play as much as I can, because it facilitates a state of flow I can not experience any other way. It's the best stress reliever I've ever known, a way to express aggression and process frustration, and pursuing improvement in badminton is also a tremendous source of happiness and fulfillment.

Why do you play badminton? Why do you coach? Why do you string rackets? Why do you watch badminton? Why do you do the thing you do related to badminton, whatever it is?
    Which do you prefer? Why do you prefer one over the other? Why are you on this forum?

kwun and Fidget like this.
  2. visor

visor Regular Member

Have you watched Pixar's just released animation movie, Soul? Being in the zone is where our minds transcend time and space. And that's what I feel in badminton when the mind and body functions perfectly in sync. It becomes a high to chase after that it can become increasingly addictive...

Exercise and getting physically fit are just secondary side effects to me.

Sent from my SM-G988W using Tapatalk

#2 visor, Jan 3, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2021
    kwun and SnowWhite like this.
  3. speCulatius

speCulatius Regular Member

Well, the thread refers to official BWF rules, so the purpose of those has to be taken into account.

The reason why an individual person plays/coaches/strings/watches/devotes any time to badminton is a totally different question. A player playing for fun with his friends can make up own rules, they're not forced to follow BWF's rules in any way.