How acceptable the player's service is?

Discussion in 'Rules / Tournament Regulation / Officiating' started by minions, Sep 2, 2019.

  1. psyclops

    psyclops Regular Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    ger
    It is difficult to figure out what is your inquiry here. Is it some sort of delay you mean by undesirable postpone in serve?
    Repost with clarifications.
     
  2. Swaraj Lakshman

    Swaraj Lakshman Regular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2019
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    India
    Could someone please explain what happened after 12-8 in the first set, how come all of a sudden Goh V shem served?



    Sent from my SM-N975F using Tapatalk
     
  3. phihag

    phihag Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    668
    Location:
    Germany
    At 8:10, Tan Wee Kiong (no knee bandage) is receiving on the right.
    At 11:8, Tan Wee Kiong is suddenly serving from the left. This is wrong, Goh V Shem should serve.
    The umpire missed it then and only corrected it before the serve at 13:8.

    This is correct according to the laws:
    That is precisely what happened. While it's of course bad form for the umpire to overlook the initial service court error after the interval and overlook it at the next rally too, the umpire handled the resulting situation professionally.

    These days, umpires are taught to especially check server and receiver after specific situations, namely interval, injury, suspension, and wild rallys.
     
  4. Boinkers

    Boinkers New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    Was there an old rule where the angle of the racquet must be generally pointing downwards (i.e. the handle is above the racket head) when serving? Or did I completely dream this up in my head?
     
  5. phihag

    phihag Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    668
    Location:
    Germany
    Those were two different rules: Handle above racket head is really old and got removed 2006 I believe.

    Racket angle downwards was removed with the introduction of fixed service height ~2018. It still is a rule in almost all national federations.
     
    ralphz likes this.
  6. Boinkers

    Boinkers New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Australia
    Good to know I wasn't making it up. Someone was asking recently regarding their service as they were told off for serving with an upward angle racquet. I correctly mentioned the fixed height, but also threw in the downward angle requirement. Shall clarify in the next game.

    Thanks!
     
    Simeon likes this.
  7. ralphz

    ralphz Regular Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    london
    What is the difference between those two old rules?

    I can try to guess but my guess might not be correct!
     
    phihag likes this.
  8. phihag

    phihag Regular Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    668
    Location:
    Germany
    I think this is best answered with a graphic:

    [​IMG]
     
    LenaicM, I3ugs, llrr and 3 others like this.

Share This Page