Request for Smash Stroke Feedback

Discussion in 'Techniques / Training' started by rogers89, Nov 28, 2023.

1. rogers89

rogers89 Regular Member

n/a
    Hi all, I've attached a link to a short clip of myself doing a few ~70% power smashes. I was hoping to get some feedback on my smash technique, specifically around the swing technique (ie. wind up, contact, follow through). Watching better players, they effortlessly smash with compact swings, making a nice "pop" noise even without using full power (ie. minimal body rotation). Hoping to understand the gaps in my technique.

Background about me - I've been playing badminton for 10 years now, never really had formal training, learned mostly from videos and forums like this one. My smash has always been one of the weaker parts of my offensive game vs. my drops/deception. Few things I've tried:
    * having a really relaxed grip - definitely helps, but still doesn't give me as much power as I see other players get
    * being behind the shuttle - i generally resort to dropping/clearing when i'm not behind shuttle, but maybe i need to be even further behind the shuttle

Any insights would be appreciated, thanks!

(you can slow down with playback options in settings)

2. Cheung

Cheung Moderator

wannabe badminton phototaker
    This.

You could probably improve your court movement to optimise your hitting point but a big part is that you have a large swing rather than a compact swing.

When you get ready to smash, you bring the racquet head behind you and pause it there. The distance between the head of the racquet and your body is really quite large hence a large swing.

The pause doesn’t help either. You are dropping the racquet behind, pausing and then initiating the stroke forward. What you should be doing is dropping the racquet behind and then initiating the stroke forward I.e. minimising that pause to as short a time as possible.